Amazing Citadels of Learning in Rivers State

Need any information about universities in Rivers State? Then, you’re in the right place.
Rivers State, also known as Rivers, is a state in the Niger Delta region of southern Nigeria (Old Eastern Region). Formed in 1967, when it was split from the former Eastern Region, Rivers State borders include: Imo to the north, Abia and Akwa Ibom to the east, and Bayelsa and Delta to the west. The state capital, Port Harcourt, is a metropolis that is considered to be the commercial center of the Nigerian oil industry.

There are 3 universities in Rivers State; University of Port Harcourt, Rivers State University and Ignatius Ajuru University of Education

River State University( website)

Rivers State University is a state owned and operated university that was established in 1972.
The University offers undergraduate and postgraduate studies, the faculties are listed below;

  • Agriculture
  • Basic Medical Sciences
  • Engineering
  • Education
  • Environmental Sciences
  • Law
  • Management Sciences
  • Science

Ignatius Ajuru University of Education

Ignatius Ajuru University of Education, (formerly Rivers State University of Education) is a Nigerian university based in Rumuolumeni, established in 1971.

The university was borne out of a need to provide a solution to the shortage of trained teachers for its rapidly expanding programme of post-primary education after the civil war.

IAUE offers undergraduate and postgraduate studies and the faculties on the campus are;

  • Faculty of Humanities
  • Faculty of Social Sciences
  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Business Studies
  • Faculty of Natural and Applied Sciences

For more information about Universities in Nigeria, click

University of Port Harcourt

Uniport is a Federal owned and operated university established in 1975.

The University of Port Harcourt was ranked the sixth in Africa and the first in Nigeria by Times Higher Education (THE) in 2015.

Uniport offers undergraduate and post graduate studies; pre-degree and A’levels.

There are 12 Faculties at the university, which are listed below;

  • Faculty of Humanities
  • Faculty of Social Sciences
  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Engineering
  • Faculty of Management Sciences
  • College of Health Sciences
  • Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences
  • Faculty of Science
  • Faculty of Dentistry
  • Faculty of Pharmacy
  • Faculty of Agriculture
  • Faculty of Law

For More Information ,click: (


Leave a Reply

You cannot copy content of this page

Enable Notifications OK No thanks