Amazing Citadels of Learning in Edo State

Edo State, whose capital, Benin City has a history of being one of the foremost destinations of Europeans during their exploration of the African continent many centuries ago.


There are 4 Universities in Edo State; University of Benin, Ambrose Alli University, Benson Idahosa University and Igbinedion University

University of Benin (website)

UNIBEN is a research university located in Benin City, owned and operated by the Federal government. It was founded in 1970.
The university offers undergraduate and post graduate studies, and has 15 faculties listed below;

University of Benin
Faculty of Agriculture
Faculty of Arts
Faculty of Education
Faculty of Engineering
Faculty of Environmental Sciences
Faculty of Law
Faculty of Management sciences
Faculty of Life Sciences
Faculty of Pharmacy
Faculty of Physical Sciences
College of Medical Sciences
School of Basic Med. Science
School of Dentistry
School of Medicine
Faculty of Social Sciences

Ambrose Alli University (website)

AAU, Ekpoma is a non-profit public university in Nigeria established in 1981. It was established by the then governor of Bendel State (now Edo and Delta States).
Did you know Ambrose Alli University has a mobile evoting app?

The university offers undergraduate and postgraduate studies, the faculties are listed below;

Basic Sciences
Clinical Sciences
Engineering & Technology
Environmental Studies
Management Science
Physical Sciences
Life Sciences
Social Sciences
College of Medicine

Benson Idahosa University (website)

Benson Idahosa University is a private, Christian university in Benin City, Nigeria named in honor of Archbishop Benson Idahosa.

BIU (previously named Christian Faith University) , a Charismatic Pentecostal minister from Benin City, Nigeria, and reflects his evangelical beliefs.

Benson Idahosa University
The university offers undergraduate and post graduate studies, faculties in the university are listed below;

Faculty of Art and Education
Faculty of Agriculture
Faculty of Law
Faculty of Science
Faculty of Social & Management Sciences
Faculty of Engineering
Faculty of Basic Medical and Health Sciences

Igbinedion University, Okada(Website)

Igbinedion University, Okada is the first private university in Nigeria, established in 1999 and was founded by Sir Gabriel Osawaru Igbinedion CFR, a billionaire, philanthropist and a prominent Benin Chief.
The University has recorded several landmark achievements including being the first Private University to produce medical doctors in Sub-Saharan Africa and producing the first private university graduate in 2006 to bag a first class at the highly competitive Nigeria Law School.
IUO offers undergraduate and postgraduate studies, the university has 6 colleges which are listed below;

College of Arts & Social Sciences
College of Business & Management Studies
College of Engineering
College of Health Sciences (Medical & Health allied courses)
College of Law
College of Natural & Applied Sciences
College of Pharmacy

For more information


Leave a Reply

You cannot copy content of this page

Enable Notifications OK No thanks