Amazing Citadels of Learning in Akwa Ibom

Need any information about the universities in Akwa Ibom state? Then you’re at the right place.

Akwa Ibom, whose capital is Uyo is located in the South-South and is bordered on the east by Cross River State, on the west by Rivers State and Abia State, and on the south by the Atlantic Ocean and the southernmost tip of Cross River State.

Did you know? Akwa Ibom state is also home to the Ibom E-Library, a world-class information centre.

Akwa Ibom

There are 3 universities in Akwa Ibom; University of Uyo (Federal), Akwa Ibom State University and Obong University.

University of Uyo (

The university located in Uyo, capital of Akwa Ibom State, began operations in 1991 and it offers pre-degree, undergraduate and post graduate studies.

Uniuyo operates from four campuses; Main Campus, Town Campus, Annex campus and Ime Umana Campus.
University of Uyo has faculties namely;

  • Engineering
  • Natural and Applied Sciences,
  • Faculty of Agriculture
  • Faculties of Arts
  • Education
  • Social Sciences
  • Pharmacy
  • Business Administration
  • Law
  • Environmental Studies
  • General Studies

Akwa Ibom State University (AKSU)

AKSU is a state owned and funded University established in 2010 with the main campus at Ikot Akpaden, and a second campus fondly known as Abak Campus situated at Obio Akpa.

The university offers undergraduate and Postgraduate studies.
There are 8 Faculties in the Akwa Ibom State University namely;

  • Faculty of Engineering
  • Faculty of Physical science
  • Faculty of Biological sciences
  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Agriculture
  • Faculty of Social Sciences
  • Faculty of Management Science
  • Faculty of Arts

Obong University

Obong University, Obong Ntak is a private University associated with the Churches of Christ, and its sponsoring congregation is the Rivergate Church of Christ in Madison, Tennessee.

The university was founded in 1997, and currently offers undergraduate and pre-degree studies.
The University houses 3 Faculties namely;

  • Faculty of Natural and Applied Sciences
  • Faculty of Arts and Humanities
  • Faculty of Management and Social Sciences

For more information about universities in Nigeria, Click


Leave a Reply

You cannot copy content of this page

Enable Notifications OK No thanks