Amazing Citadels of Learning in Kwara State

Need any information about Universities in Kwara? Then you’re in the right place.

Kwara, whose capital is Ilorin is located within the North Central geopolitical zone.


There are 4 Universities in Kwara State; University of Ilorin, Kwara State University, Landmark University, Al-hikmah University

University of Ilorin(

Unilorin, a federal government-owned university in Ilorin was established in 1975

The University of Ilorin offers remedial, undergraduate and postgraduate studies and has 15 Faculties which are listed below;
The Faculties in University of Ilorin now are:

  • Arts
  • Agriculture
  • Environmental Sciences
  • Life Sciences
  • Management Sciences
  • Physical Sciences
  • Social Sciences
  • Communication and Information Sciences
  • Education
  • Engineering and Technology
  • Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Veterinary Medicine
  • Law
  • Basic Medical Sciences
  • Clinical Sciences

Kwara State University

The state university also known as KWASU, was established by the administration of Dr. Bukola Saraki in 2009.
KWASU operates a multiple campus system; the Malete campus is the main campus, Osi (Ekiti Local Government) and the other campus is at Baruba (Baruten Local Government).

Kwara State University has 6 colleges, which are listed below;

  • College of Pure and applied Sciences
  • College of Information and Communication Technology
  • College of Education
  • College of Engineering and Technology
  • College of Humanities, Management, and Social Sciences
  • College of Agriculture and Veterinary Sciences.

Landmark University

Landmark University, Omu-Aran is a Private Christian University, affiliated with Living Faith Church Worldwide established in 2011.
Did you know the University produces most of the food items (eggs, frozen chicken, fish, soya beans, cassava, rice, fufu flour and Brown Rice) consumed on its campus and sells farm produce to its neighboring communities?

The university offers undergraduate programs through the following colleges;


Al-Hikmah University

Al-hikmah University, Kwara is an Islamic university founded in 2005 by AbdulRaheem Oladimeji.
The University offers undergraduate and postgraduate studies and the following faculties are available;

  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Natural & Applied Sciences
  • Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Faculty of Management Sciences
  • Faculty of Agriculture

For more information about Universities in Nigeria, click:


Leave a Reply

You cannot copy content of this page

Enable Notifications OK No thanks