Amazing Citadels Of Learning in Ogun State

Need any information about universities in ogun state? Then, You’re in the right place.

Ogun State is a state in southwestern Nigeria, it’s capital, Abeokuta is the largest city in the state.

The state’s appellation is “Gateway to Nigeria”

There are 6 universities in Ogun State; Federal University of Agriculture (FUNAAB), Olabisi Onabanjo University (OOU), Tai Solarin University of Education (TASUED), Covenant University (CU), Babcock University, and Bells University of Technology (BUT)

Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta

FUNAAB is a Federal government owned university located in Abeokuta and it was established on 1 January 1988. The university offers undergraduate and post-graduate studies and has colleges listed below;

  • College of Animal Science and Livestock Production (COLANIM)
  • College of Environmental Resources Management (COLERM)
  • College of Physical Sciences (COLPHYS)
  • College of Biological Science (COLBIOS)
  • College of Plant Science and Crop Production (COLPLANT)
  • College of Engineering (COLENG)
  • College of Veterinary Medicine (COLVET)
  • College of Food Science and Human Ecology (COLFHEC)
  • College of Agricultural Management and Rural Development (COLAMRUD)
  • College of Management Sciences (COLMAS)

Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago-Iwoye

OOU is a state (owned and operated) university in Ago-Iwoye, Ogun State, Nigeria. The university was founded July 7, 1982 as Ogun State University (OSU) and renamed Olabisi Onabanjo University on May 29, 2001. The university offers Undergraduate and Postgraduate studies and operates 4 campuses; Main Campus in Ago-Iwoye, Aiyetoro Campus, Ibogun Campus and Shagamus Campus.
Did you know students and alumni of the Olabisi Onabanjo University are addressed as ‘Great OOUITES?
Faculties (10) in the university are listed below;

  • Faculty of Science
  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Engineering and environmental sciences
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Art
  • Faculty of Social science
  • Faculty of Basic medical science
  • Faculty of Clinical sciences
  • Faculty of Pharmacy
  • Faculty of Agriculture.

Tai Solarin University of Education

TASUED is a state university of education in Nigeria, established in 2005 and located in Ijagun, Ijebu-Ode.
The university named after the Nigerian educational administrator and human rights activist Tai Solarin is the premier University of Education in Nigeria. TASUED offers pre-degree, Undergraduate and Postgraduate studies. The colleges available in the university are listed below;

  • College of Specialised and Professional Education (COSPED)
  • College of Science and Information Technology (COSIT)
  • College of Humanities (COHUM)
  • College of Social and Management Sciences (COSMAS)
  • College of Vocational and Technology Education (COVTED)
  • The Postgraduate College (TPC)

Covenant University (CU)

CU is a private Christian university in Ota, Ogun State, established in 2002 has been one of the leading universities in Nigeria. The university is affiliated with Living Faith Church Worldwide and is a member of the Association of Commonwealth Universities, Association of African Universities and National Universities Commission. Covenant University offers Undergraduate Admission, Postgraduate Admission, Foreign Students Admission.
Colleges available at the university are listed below;

  • College of Business and Social Sciences
  • College of Engineering
  • College of Leadership Development Studies
  • College of Science and Technology
  • School of Postgraduate Studies

Bells University of Technology (BUT)

BUT, also known as Bellstech, is the first private university of technology established in 2004. The university offers undergraduate and postgraduate studies. Visit Bells University of Technology website for admissions and more updates. BUT is made up of seven Colleges.

  • College of Natural and Applied Sciences
  • College of Food Sciences
  • College of Information and Communications Technology
  • College of Management Sciences
  • College of Engineering

Babcock University

Babcock University, Ilishan-Remo is a private Christian co-educational Nigerian university owned and operated by the Seventh-day Adventist Church in Nigeria. The university offers Undergraduate and Postgraduate studies. Babcock hosts nine schools and one college;

  • School of Agriculture & Industrial Technology.
  • Babcock Business School.
  • College of Health & Medical Sciences.
  • School of Basic & Applied Science (formerly Science & Technology).
  • School of Computing &Engineering Sciences.
  • School of Education and Humanities.
  • School of Law & Security Studies.
  • School of Nursing.
  • School of Public & Applied Health.
  • School of Post Graduate Studies.

For more information about Universities in Nigeria visit


Leave a Reply

You cannot copy content of this page

Enable Notifications OK No thanks