Amazing Citadels of Learning in Delta State

Delta State is a state in the South-South geopolitical zone of Nigeria. Named after the Niger Delta —a large part of which is in the state—the state was formed from the former Bendel State in August 27, 1991.
Bordered on the north by Edo State, the east by Anambra and Rivers States, and that south by Bayelsa State while to the west is the Bight of Benin which covers about 160 kilometres of the state’s coastline.
The State was initially created with 12 local government areas in 1991 which was later extended to 19 and now has 25 local government areas. Asaba as its state capital located along the River Niger on the northeastern end of the State, while the state’s economic center is Warri on the southwestern coastline.


Delta State is an oil and agricultural producing state in Nigeria and its capital is Asaba, located at the northern end of the state. Need any information about Universities in Delta State?

There are 3 Universities in Delta State; Federal University of Petroleum Resources Effurun, Delta State University and Western Delta University.

Federal University of Petroleum Resources Effurun

FUPRE, a Federal government owned and operated university in Delta State, was established in 2007 and admitted its first set of undergraduates in 2008.
The university is the first petroleum university in Africa and the main focus is petroleum engineering and technology related courses. The school website is Undergraduate Portal | Federal University of Petroleum Resources (
Federal University of Petroleum Resources offers pre-degree, undergraduate and post graduate studies in 2 colleges;

College of Science
College of Technology


Delta State University, Abraka

The State Owned and operated university located in Delta State is popularly known as DELSU. The university offers undergraduate and Post graduate studies. The school website is Delta State University, Abraka (

DELSU operates 3 campuses in Delta State; main campus at Abraka, and others located in Asaba and Oleh, the three campuses are within a distance of about 200 km apart.

Faculty of Education
Faculty of Arts
Faculty of Sciences
Faculty of the Social Sciences
Faculty of Pharmacy
College of Basic Medical Sciences
College of Health Technology
Faculty of Agriculture.
Faculty of Management Science.
Faculty of Environmental Studies.
Faculty of Law
Faculty of Engineering
Faculty of science

Western Delta University

Western Delta University is a private university located in Oghara, Delta State and was established in 2007.
The School offers a range of courses: Biochemistry,Microbiology and Biotechnology, Basic And Industrial Chemistry, Mathematics & Computer Science, Computer Science, Pure and Industrial Mathematics, Physics and Energy Studies, etc through 4 Colleges which are:

College of Natural & Applied Sciences
College of Social & Management Sciences.
Institute of Delta Studies
Law (LL.B)
For more information about Universities in Nigeria, click


Leave a Reply

You cannot copy content of this page

Enable Notifications OK No thanks