Amazing Citadels of Learning in Bauchi State

What is today known as Bauchi State was created in 1976 from the North Eastern State of Nigeria. According to the 1991 census, the state has a population of 3,836,333 after the creation of Gombe State in 1996. Bauchi State is one of the states in Northern part of Nigeria that spans two distinctive vegetation zones, namely the Sudan savannah and the Sahel Savannah.

The Sudan savannah type of vegetation covers the southern part of the state. Here, the vegetation gets richer and richer towards the South, especially along water sources or rivers but generally, the vegetation is less uniform and grasses are shorter than what obtains further South, that is in the forest zone of the middle belt. The Sahel type of Savannah which is also known as the semi-desert vegetation becomes manifest from the middle of the state as one moves from the South to the Northern part of the State.

The characteristics of this type of vegetation comprise of isolated stands of thorny shrubs. On the other hand, the southern part of the state is mountainous as a result of the continuation of the Jos – Plateau, while the northern part is generally sandy.

Need any information about the universities in Bauchi State? Then you’re at the right place. There are 2 universities in Bauchi; Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University and Bauchi State University.


Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University (ATBU)

The Federal university of technology located in Bauchi was established in 1981 and was named after the first Prime Minister of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, Sir Abubakar Tafawa Balewa.
ATBU offers entry level bachelor’s degrees, Masters and Doctorate degrees.
Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University
There are five (5) Faculties in the university;
Faculty of Engineering and Engineering Technology
Faculty of Environmental Technology
Faculty of Agriculture and Agriculture Technology
Faculty of Technology Education.
Faculty of Management Science
Bauchi State University Gadau
The state owned university (BASUG) was established in 2011. BASUG has 3 campuses; main campus (Gadau). Misau Campus and Bauch Campus. Visit ATBU Portal – Official Website to learn more about them.

Bauchi State University Gadau

There are 6 Faculties in BASUG;

Faculty of Arts and Education
Faculty of Medicine
Faculty of Science
School of Basic and Remedial Studies
Faculty of Law
Faculty of Social and Management Sciences

Visit Bauchi State University, Gadau – Ilimi Tushen Cigaba ( to learn more the school.
For more information about Universities in Nigeria, click


Leave a Reply

You cannot copy content of this page

Enable Notifications OK No thanks